Roomology goes to Cortona

Bramasole

I fell in love with Italy from after watching Under the Tuscan Sun in 2003.  That movie convinced me to move to Italy in 2005 for a year and after traveling back and forth the past few years, I finally made it to Cortona this summer.  From the city center of Cortona, the locals pointed up a hill to where Frances Mayes’ real Bramasole was (not the house they used in the movie).  So I ventured out one morning and after what seemed like the longest and hottest walk of my life I finally reached it!  And it was easily ten times more beautiful than I had imagined.

It was not until I got home that I realized Frances Mayes worked with Drexel Heritage to create a furniture line that was influenced by the pieces she found in Bramasole.  Here are some of my favorites from her line…

The Celebration Tavola Table

What a great piece for a foyer.  I can picture it with a huge vase of sunflowers.

The Welcome Home Chest

The details on this piece are so romantic.  It would make any room more inviting.

Chateau Upholstered Arm Chair

The simplicity of this chair  can add regality to any dining room and the contrast between the upholstery and frame  accentuate the beautiful profile.

The hike from Cortona to Bramasole… not too bad.
Leave a Reply

