The Best Storage Beds

Your closets not big enough? (Whose are?) Under the bed can be a great solution. Here are my favorite storage beds….


This weathered driftwood is very cottage chic, but the upholstered back looks comfy to lean against. While a lot of storage beds look clunky and unfinished, the drawers at the bottom actually look like a charming touch. $1150 for a queen on Wayfair.


I like the regular geometry of the Magnussen Lauren Storage Bed, $1099 for a queen.



The Swami bed from Calligaris looks like a typical platform bed, but opens for storage underneath. $1643 for a queen from inMod (in white or brown).


The Sandy Beach storage bed from Coaster is a cute economical option, $765 at buy.com (also comes in black).


The Hudson storage bed from Room & Board has drawers on either side. Queen for $2399 (shown here in maple, comes in multiple colors).


The Vintage Fir bed has six cubbies and three eco-friendly finishes. $2650 from VivaTerra.



Pottery Barn and PBTeen both have storage bed options. The upper photo is the Pottery Barn Cynthia bed, which has an upholstered inset. $1999 for a queen. The lower is PBTeen’s slightly more economical, non-upholstered Hampton bed for $1699. I don’t care for the fact that the Hampton has those open shelves on the ends, and I like an upholstered back to lean against when I’m reading, so I’d spend the extra $300. Both come in white or brown.


The Klaussner Danbury bed makes a grand statement, $1079.

My only fear with these is that doing away with your box spring would affect the comfort of your mattress. Anyone have experience with this? Comment and let us know!

Susie

3 responses to “The Best Storage Beds

  1. As a longtime clothes horse/pack rat, I’ve had storage beds for years, and have never suffered from an uncomfortable night’s sleep, despite the lack of a box spring. I currently have West Elm’s storage bed. It has lots of storage space in drawers, and you can also get the optional side tables that link on the ends if you’re really short of space and want more storage (perfect for my tiny studio!). Also, I like the modern, fresh look and clean lines!

  2. I am totally interested if anyone has ANY feedback on this frame: http://www.homefurnitureshowroom.com/products/view.aspx?sku=6522607&af=1530&cse=1530

    What I like about it is that I can still have my boxspring and it doesn’t look like your bed is sittingon a box like some storage beds. (the frame sets just in a bit and is hidden by the skirt). BUt I wanted to get some reviews first. ANyone?

Leave a Reply

